Entrepreneurs

Owner and family-managed companies think in generations, not quarters. A long-term perspective over the course of the economic cycle pays off in the form of higher profitability compared to the typical executive-led company. Entrepreneurial sustainability for your portfolio.

Investment Case Entrepreneur

Sustainable entrepreneurial practices raise returns

At the heart of every family or entrepreneur-owned business is its owner. Compared to non-family businesses, the decisions these entrepreneurs and managers make are not dictated by short-term financial targets. Longer-term goals are more important. Entrepreneurs balance their own interests with those of their employees, customers, suppliers and shareholders. Over the course of the economic cycle this long-term perspective pays off in the form of higher profitability and better returns on investment. Numerous empirical studies corroborate that claim.

Entrepreneurs – thinking in generations, not quarters

Family and entrepreneur-managed businesses are not only the backbone of the economy, they represent a special class of companies whose qualities clearly set them apart from non-family businesses. Decisions made by family and entrepreneur-managed companies are typically framed by longer-term goals; these companies «think in generations, not quarters.»

Entrepreneur-managed companies usually stick to a conservative financing strategy. Their equity capital is higher than average, and their balance sheets are stronger. These qualities make entrepreneurs more resilient during periods of crisis and permits them to pursue anticyclical investment strategies regardless of the economic cycle.

They are also distinguished by greater innovation, a sharp focus on market niches, a high degree of internationalism and stable customer relationships. Entrepreneur companies often have deep roots in their local community and cultivate a strong sense of identification with company values. Continuity and ethics come before the maximization of short-term profits.

Advantages corroborated by research

Family-run companies have become an object of research in their own right within the academic and economic communities. A large number of studies have concluded that entrepreneur-managed companies usually operate with significantly higher levels of equity capital than non-family companies. Entrepreneurs often have a substantial financial stake in their own business, which in many cases represents much of the family’s wealth. Studies have also found that entrepreneur-managed companies have higher operating margins. In the case of listed family businesses, this higher profitability translates into a better-than-average performance over the long run.

The influence a company’s shareholder structure has on its long-term performance was long neglected in practice by the investment community. Entrepreneur-based investment strategies can deliver an excess return in the long term.

However, simply creating a portfolio of listed family businesses will not automatically lead to a better-than-average performance. Every company can also have its own specific risks. Examples here are the absence of a succession plan, or when a business becomes detached from its entrepreneurial foundations, or when its minority shareholders are not treated equally. Astute stock-picking in a quantitative and qualitative sense, taking into account soft factors associated with the entrepreneurs and their roles and duties within the company, is therefore all the more important when investing in entrepreneurs.

Our expertise

Bellevue Asset Management was a pioneer in the field of entrepreneurial investing and is proud of its more than 10-year track record with successful Entrepreneur funds. In its quest to identify the most attractive investment ideas, management teams travel across Europe to meet company founders and managers in person. Prudence, skill and experience are needed to pick the right stocks. Particularly in today's challenging markets, smart stock selection is more important than ever.

Entrepreneur Funds

Birgitte Olsen
Birgitte Olsen, CFA, Lead Portfolio Manager
  • Since 2008 with Bellevue Asset Management, lead manager of the entrepreneur strategies and institutional mandates
  • 2007 - 2008 GVO Asset Management, head of portfolio management
  • 1998 - 2007 Generali Investments, Cologne, deputy head equities, portfolio manager European equities
  • 1997 - 1998 Vontobel Asset Management, Zurich, analyst and portfolio manager
  • Master's degree in Business Economics and Finance, University of St. Gallen (HSG)
Michel Keusch
Michel Keusch, Portfolio Manager
  • Since 2013 as senior portfolio manager European equities
  • 2007–2012 Bellevue Asset Management as co-portfolio manager of BB Toros Prime Fund
  • 2003–2007 Crédit Agricole Cheuvreux, senior equity research analyst for consumer goods and services
  • 1996–2003 Credit Suisse First Boston, senior equity research analyst for consumer goods and services
  • DESS/MBA in international management following studies at the University of Strasbourg, France, and University of Bath, UK
Laurent Picard
Laurent Picard, SFAF, Portfolio Manager
  • Since 2018 with the entrepreneur team of Bellevue Asset Management as financial analyst and portfolio manager European equities
  • 2016-2017 Financial consultant for start-ups in the internet/tech sector
  • 2003–2016 Société Générale as senior equity research analyst for Media
  • 2001–2003 UBS Warburg as strategist specialized on the French equity market
  • 2000–2001 UBS Warburg as equity analyst for IT Services and Software
  • Graduated from Paris X University and ESSEC business school holding a Master of Financial Techniques.
  • Birgitte Olsen
  • Michel Keusch
  • Laurent Picard

Our investment solutions

Independent research has shown that family and entrepreneur-managed businesses add value by virtue of their sustainable and long-term strategies. Bellevue's offering of Entrepreneur funds allows investors to benefit from the intrinsic strengths of this investment class.

Product Date ISIN NO. NAV YTD 1YR 3YR Factsheet

BB Entrepreneur Europe (Lux)

> I-EUR 18.09.2018 LU0415391944 391.54 4.45% 5.07% 29.22%
  • EN

    • DE
    • EN
> AB-EUR 18.09.2018 LU0810317205 183.61 3.94% 4.35% 26.47%
  • EN

    • DE
    • EN
> B-EUR 18.09.2018 LU0415391860 365.65 3.94% 4.35% 26.47%
  • EN

    • DE
    • EN
> B-CHF 18.09.2018 LU0415392082 273.02 -0.03% 2.31% 30.26%
  • EN

    • DE
    • EN
> I-CHF 18.09.2018 LU0415392165 294.19 0.47% 3.03% 33.11%
  • EN

    • DE
    • EN
> I-GBP 18.09.2018 LU0767970303 237.43 4.67% 5.80% 57.52%
  • EN

    • DE
    • EN

BB Entrepreneur Europe Small (Lux)

> I-EUR 18.09.2018 LU0631859062 326.64 -4.60% 0.24% 50.51%
  • EN

    • DE
    • EN
> B-CHF 18.09.2018 LU0631859732 285.50 -8.69% -2.38% 51.62%
  • EN

    • DE
    • EN
> I-CHF 18.09.2018 LU0631859575 301.43 -8.23% -1.70% 55.26%
  • EN

    • DE
    • EN

BB Entrepreneur Swiss Small&Mid (Lux)

> I-CHF 18.09.2018 LU1477743469 152.55 -2.95% 1.63% n.a.
  • EN

    • DE
    • EN
> B-EUR 18.09.2018 LU1477743899 144.55 0.39% 2.85% n.a.
  • EN

    • DE
    • EN
> B-CHF 18.09.2018 LU1477743543 150.58 -3.44% 0.85% n.a.
  • EN

    • DE
    • EN
> I-EUR 18.09.2018 LU1477743626 146.45 0.90% 3.64% n.a.
  • EN

    • DE
    • EN

News

Products & Services / 21.03.2018

BB Entrepreneur Europe Small and BB Entrepreneur Switzerland win Lipper Fund Awards 2018. 

Markets & Opinions / 10.04.2017

Record of a call with Portfoliomanagen Birgitte Olsen.

Products & Services / 01.02.2017

Bellevue has launched a Luxembourg-based version of its BB Entrepreneur Switzerland fund.

Products & Services / 25.04.2016

Ten years ago Bellevue Asset Management launched the very first investment fund in Switzerland focused...

Markets & Opinions / 14.12.2015

“Entrepreneurs think in generations and not in financial quarters”. Studies show that long t...

 

Award

Award

Award

Rating

Rating

Entrepreneurs

Familien- bzw. eigentümergeführte Unternehmen denken in Generationen und nicht in Quartalen. Die langfristige Orientierung zeigt sich über den Konjunkturzyklus in einer höheren Rentabilität gegenüber managergeführten Unternehmen. Anlagefonds mit Fokus auf Entrepreneurs bieten unternehmerische Nachhaltigkeit für Ihr Portfolio.

Investment Case Entrepreneurs

Nachhaltige Eigentümer treiben die Rendite

Bei eigentümergeführten Unternehmen steht der Inhaber im Zentrum des Betriebes. Im Vergleich zu Nicht-Familienunternehmen basieren deren Entscheidungen nicht auf kurzfristigen Finanzzielen. Vielmehr stehen langfristige Ziele im Vordergrund. Dabei werden nicht nur die eigenen Interessen, sondern auch die von Angestellten, Kunden, Lieferanten und Aktionären verfolgt. Diese langfristige Orientierung macht sich über den Konjunkturzyklus sowohl in einer höhere Rentabilität als auch in höheren Renditen bemerkbar. In Studien wurde dies mehrfach bewiesen.

Entrepreneurs - Denken in Generationen, nicht in Quartalen

Familien- bzw. eigentümergeführte Unternehmen bilden nicht nur das Rückgrat der Wirtschaft, sie sind auch eine Unternehmensklasse, die sich durch besondere Eigenschaften von Nicht-Familienunternehmen abhebt. Sie richten ihre Unternehmensentscheide meist an längerfristigen Zielen aus, sie «Denken in Generationen, nicht in Quartalen»

Eigentümergeführte Unternehmen sind meist konservativ finanziert. Das Eigenkapital ist überdurchschnittlich hoch, die Bilanzen besonders stark. Dieser Umstand macht Entrepreneure krisenresistenter und erlaubt ihnen unabhängig vom Konjunkturzyklus antizyklisch zu investieren.

Sie zeichnen sich durch höhere Innovationskraft, Konzentration auf Nischenmärkte, hohen Internationalisierungsgrad und stabile Kundenbeziehungen aus. Ihre langjährig gewachsene regionale Verwurzelung paart sich mit einem identitätsstiftenden Wertesystem. Kontinuität und Moral werden über eine kurzfristige Maximierung der Gewinne gestellt.

Vorsprung wissenschaftlich untermauert

Familienunternehmen zählen heute zu einer eigenständigen Forschungsdisziplin innerhalb der Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Mit hoher Übereinstimmung kommen viele Studien zu dem Schluss, dass eigentümergeführte Unternehmen meist deutlich solider eigenfinanziert sind als Nicht-Familienunternehmen. Entrepreneure sind selbst finanziell stark im eigenen Unternehmen engagiert, nicht selten ist ein hoher Anteil des Familienvermögens im Betrieb investiert. Wie die Studien zeigen, weisen eigentümergeführte Unternehmen eine höhere operative Rentabilität auf. Bei börsennotierten Familienunternehmen manifestiert sich die höhere Profitabilität langfristig in überdurchschnittlich stark steigenden Kursen.

Der Einfluss der Struktur des Aktionariats auf die langfristige Performanceentwicklung wurde bisher in der Anlagepraxis vernachlässigt. Langfristig lässt sich mit einem Entrepreneur-Konzept eine Mehrrendite gegenüber den breiten Aktienmärkten erwirtschaften.

Ein aus börsennotierten Familienunternehmen zusammengesetztes Portfolio führt jedoch nicht a priori zu einer überproportionalen Wertsteigerung. Jedes Unternehmen birgt auch spezifische Risiken wie etwa fehlende Nachfolgeregelungen, Verlust der «Bodenhaftung» des Unternehmers oder Benachteiligung von Minderheitsaktionären. Umso wichtiger erweist sich in diesem Zusammenhang eine sorgfältige quantitative und qualitative Titelselektion, die auch weiche Faktoren rund um den Entrepreneur und dessen Rolle und Stellung im Unternehmen berücksichtigt.

Unsere Expertise

Bellevue Asset Management zählt mit einem mehr als 10-jährigen Erfolgsausweis zu den Pionieren in der Verwaltung von Entrepreneur-Portfolios. Auf der Suche nach den attraktivsten Anlageideen reist das Team durch ganz Europa, um sich mit den Firmenlenkern und Gründer vor Ort zu treffen. Der Stockpicking-Ansatz verlangt Fingerspitzengefühl und Erfahrung. Gerade im aktuell sehr anspruchsvollen Marktumfeld ist eine geschickte Auswahl von Einzeltiteln wichtiger denn je.

Entrepreneur Fonds

Birgitte Olsen
Birgitte Olsen, CFA, Lead Portfoliomanager
  • Seit 2008 bei Bellevue Asset Management als Senior Portfolio Manager verantwortlich für die Entrepreneur-Strategien sowie institutionelle Mandate
  • 2007 - 2008 Head of Portfolio Management bei GVO Asset Management, Neuhausen
  • 1998 - 2007 Stellv. Leiter Aktien/Portfolio Manager Aktien Europa bei Generali Investments, Köln
  • Lic. oec. HSG mit Vertiefungsrichtung Finanz- und Rechnungswesen, Universität St. Gallen (HSG), CFA Charterholder
Michel Keusch
Michel Keusch, Portfoliomanager
  • Seit 2013 Senior Portfolio Manager European Equities
  • 2007–2012 Bellevue Asset Management, Co-Portfolio Manager des BB Toros Prime Fonds
  • 2003–2007 Crédit Agricole Cheuvreux, Senior-Aktienanalyst für Consumer Goods and Services
  • 1996–2003 Credit Suisse First Boston, Senior-Aktienanalyst für Consumer Goods and Services
  • DESS/MBA in International Management der Universitäten von Strassburg, Frankreich, und Bath, UK
Laurent Picard
Laurent Picard, SFAF, Portfoliomanager
  • Seit 2018 Finanzanalyst und Portfoliomanager European Equities Bellevue Asset Management
  • 2016–2017 Finanzberater für Start-up-Unternehmen IT/Technologie
  • 2003–2016 Senior Equity Research Analyst Mediensektor, Société Générale
  • 2001–2003 Strategiespezialist französischer Aktienmark, UBS Warburg
  • Abschluss des Studiengangs Finanztechnik an der Universität Paris X und der ESSEC Business School als Master
  • Birgitte Olsen
  • Michel Keusch
  • Laurent Picard

Unsere Anlagelösungen

Familien- und eigentümergeführte Unternehmen schaffen nachweislich Mehrwert dank nachhaltiger und langfristiger Optik. Mit der Bellevue Entrepreneur-Familie profitieren auch Anleger von der traditionellen Stärke dieser Anlageklasse.

Produkt Datum ISIN NR. NAV YTD 1YR 3YR Factsheet

BB Entrepreneur Europe (Lux)

> I-EUR 10.12.2018 LU0415391944 324.78 -13.36% -13.35% 3.14%
  • DE

    • DE
    • EN
> AB-EUR 10.12.2018 LU0810317205 147.42 -13.90% -13.93% 0.97%
  • DE

    • DE
    • EN
> AI-EUR 10.12.2018 LU1916264358 118.24 n.a. n.a. n.a. n.a.
> AI-GBP 19.05.2015 LU0865909641 138.52 12.16% 2.84% n.a. n.a.
> B-EUR 10.12.2018 LU0415391860 302.87 -13.91% -13.93% 0.97%
  • DE

    • DE
    • EN
> B-CHF 10.12.2018 LU0415392082 226.17 -17.18% -17.09% 5.09%
  • DE

    • DE
    • EN
> I-CHF 10.12.2018 LU0415392165 244.04 -16.66% -16.53% 7.36%
  • DE

    • DE
    • EN
> I-GBP 10.12.2018 LU0767970303 201.03 -11.38% -10.45% 29.84%
  • DE

    • DE
    • EN
> I2-EUR 10.12.2018 LU1725387978 109.10 -13.25% -13.24% n.a.
  • DE

    • DE
    • EN

BB Entrepreneur Europe Small (Lux)

> I-EUR 10.12.2018 LU0631859062 248.22 -27.50% -24.59% 8.35%
  • DE

    • DE
    • EN
> B-CHF 10.12.2018 LU0631859732 216.63 -30.72% -27.85% 10.33%
  • DE

    • DE
    • EN
> I-CHF 10.12.2018 LU0631859575 229.09 -30.26% -27.35% 13.00%
  • DE

    • DE
    • EN
> I2-EUR 10.12.2018 LU1725388190 94.86 -27.44% -24.56% n.a.
  • DE

    • DE
    • EN

BB Entrepreneur Swiss Small & Mid (Lux)

> I-CHF 10.12.2018 LU1477743469 122.27 -22.21% -21.11% n.a.
  • DE

    • DE
    • EN
> B-EUR 10.12.2018 LU1477743899 115.72 -19.63% -18.64% n.a.
  • DE

    • DE
    • EN
> B-CHF 10.12.2018 LU1477743543 120.56 -22.69% -21.63% n.a.
  • DE

    • DE
    • EN
> I-EUR 10.12.2018 LU1477743626 117.38 -19.13% -18.11% n.a.
  • DE

    • DE
    • EN

News

Märkte & Meinungen / 13.11.2018

Aufzeichnung des Updates mit Portfoliomanagerin Birgitte Olsen vom 13. November 2018.

Märkte & Meinungen / 15.10.2018

Interview mit Portfoliomanager Birgitte Olsen auf schweizeraktien.net.  

Märkte & Meinungen / 08.10.2018

Interview mit Portfoliomanager Birgitte Olsen auf CNN Money Switzerland (englisch).

Märkte & Meinungen / 03.10.2018

Beitrag zum Potenzial von Entrepreneur-Strategien im Special Anlegen mit Weitsicht.

Märkte & Meinungen / 13.06.2018

Beitrag über eigentümergeführte Unternehmen aus dem Magazin Rendite.

 

Award

Award

Award

Rating

Rating