Asset Management

Bellevue clients are looking for something special. And so are we. As an independent investment services provider, we offer a select and diverse range of actively managed investment solutions. Our quest for sound investment opportunities that generate above-average returns for our clients can take us well off the beaten track, away from the mainstream benchmarks.

Active Asset Management
Healthcare Equity Strategies
Specialized Regional Strategies
Multi-Asset Strategies
Global Equity & Bond Strategies
BB Biotech AG
Funds & Mandates
Private Equity
Switzer­land/
Europe
Niche Strategies
Frontier Markets
Absolute Return
Asset Allo­cation
ETF-​Strategies
Global Equities
Global Bonds
Fundamental Research/ Stock Picking (Bottom Up)
quantitative, Capital-Market Reseach (Top Down)

Active Asset Management

Specialist inFundamental Research and Stock Picking

Areas of Expertise

Healthcare Equity Strategy

  • BB Biotech AG
  • Funds & Mandates
  • Private Equity

Specialized Regional Strategies

  • Switzerland / Europe Niche Strategies
  • Frontier Markets

Multi-Asset Strategies

  • Absolute Return

Specialist inquantitive, Capital-Market Research

Areas of Expertise

Multi-Asset Strategies

  • Asset Allocation
  • ETF-Strategies

Global Equity & Bond Strategies

  • Global Equities
  • Global Bonds

Bellevue Asset Management – a proponent of specialty solutions

We have a strong conviction for attractive specialty themes powered by structural growth trends.

One of our core areas of specialty that already dates back more than 20 years is the global healthcare sector. We offer a diverse spectrum of top-tier investment solutions for this sector. Investors will find a solution for their specific needs among the many investment funds and mandate solutions we offer, which are crowned by our flagship investment vehicle, the listed investment company BB Biotech AG. The BB  Adamant Healthcare Index Fund is suitable for institutional investors in particular. It invests in the 40 most attractive healthcare stocks worldwide and has handily beaten the total market over the past several years. 

Our selective investment approach is also reflected in our regional theme funds. We screen and invest in promising family and owner-managed companies based in Switzerland or the broader European continent through our family of Entrepreneur funds. Bellevue is a pioneer in this field. The same applies to our presence in frontier markets. We have become very adept at identifying high growth potential in new and emerging markets, particularly on the African continent, where our many years of experience and well-established local networks allow clients to benefit from attractive investment opportunities.

With BB Global Macro we also offer a multi-asset fund focused on absolute returns. Its investment objective is to meet conservative return expectations with minimal and controlled levels of volatility. Additional plus points for cautious investors are the fund's daily liquidity and the strict regulations that it must comply with as a Luxembourg-based fund. With this fund Bellevue Asset Management has established a bridge to the proven asset management expertise of our sister company StarCapital.

StarCapital – holistic asset management

As a market-oriented asset manager, we are guided by passion and professionalism in the formulation of our investment strategies and in the decisions we take on behalf of our private and institutional clients. We make sure our clients to understand our investment strategies and provide transparent management and performance data at regular intervals. We strive to build lasting relationships with all our clients by preserving and growing the value of their investment portfolios.

The investment strategies we pursue are based on a combination of our own experience and scientific methods. We draw on the decades of experience of our fund managers as well as on the analysis and findings of our internal capital market research activities. A holistic assessment of financial markets is always of great importance, the long-term aim being the optimal positioning of our clients’ portfolios. Our investment style is distinguished in particular by an anti-cyclical approach.

Given our many years of experience and proven investment expertise, we make use of the entire repertoire of available asset classes: In addition to global equity and fixed income funds, we successfully manage multi-asset funds. A diverse family of ETF strategies (asset allocation with ETFs) rounds out the holistic profile.

The best of two worlds

Conviction and passion for active management styles and high level of complementarity

The successful union of our two businesses is secured by a strong bond: A deep conviction for an active management style – implemented with a high level of discipline and passion.

Both our specialized and holistic strategies seek to create value for investors through active rather than passive management. Experience, proven investment competence and strong convictions allow us to achieve a high “active share” with a moderate asset turnover ratio in comparatively well-focused portfolios.

Opportunities and price anomalies associated with inefficient markets are exploited and anti-cyclical behavior is encouraged. Two different investment approaches are taken:

Fundamental research-driven stock picking (bottom-up)

Bellevue Asset Management's teams of highly specialized experts have a clear objective: Generate above-average returns while keeping risk under control and well monitored. Drawing on our profound understanding of companies and markets, we seek out the best investment candidates. Our portfolio managers are not only investment experts – many also hold degrees in physics, engineering, biochemistry and other fields. All are highly familiar with the companies they cover and the detailed knowledge they have gained over the years gives them a key advantage when forming their opinions. If their opinion diverges from the consensus opinion, investment opportunities will be seized. This disciplined stock-picking approach leads to a concentrated portfolio containing 30 to 50 positions.

Our collective investment expertise and the financial products and services we provide are highly complementary so we can offer our clients the best of our two worlds.

A top-down approach guided by experience and internal capital-market research

StarCapital systematically analyzes capital market events and correlations and, based on the resulting insights and its asset management experience, takes the appropriate decisions. StarCapital’s research and analysis activities focus on valuation aspects, as empirical data shows that long-term returns on stock markets are determined by valuation variables. StarCapital monitors fundamental indicators such as the Shiller CAPE or price/book ratios as well as technical indicators such as relative strength.

The long-term nature of our investment strategies provides leeway for a decidedly anticyclical strategy, which has proven to be a crucial performance driver.

People make the difference

The interests of our clients overlap with our own, not least because the portfolio managers and other key personnel are invested in the same products and therefore share in the success of those products. Even our company's pension assets are invested in our investment products. As the saying goes, “we eat our own cooking!” and that acts as an effective risk management policy.

Independent and entrepreneurial thought and actions are at the heart of our corporate culture. There is no group-wide opinion maker or supervisor to which all portfolio managers are subordinated. All of our specialist teams are committed to a high degree of self-responsibility, respect and visionary thinking within the framework of their autonomous product cells.

A high degree of autonomy helps us to recruit the best investment talent there is and then develop that talent through a productive and mutually rewarding collaboration. Our investment professionals have gained considerable knowledge of the companies and markets they have covered over the years, and are adept at finding the “hidden pearls”.

We keep our finger on the pulse of the market as we strive to achieve the best possible investment outcomes for our clients. The more than 60 professionals working in our Asset Management operations are stationed in Zurich, New York, London and Curacao. We have strengthened our local presence in Germany with StarCapital.

Experience and analytical competence combined with effective risk management

Serious and successful investment research – no matter whether fundamental research or capital market research – is hard work. That plays to our advantage because we like to dig deep into the details. Our in-house capital market research specialists systematically identify the most attractive asset classes, markets and sectors, as viewed from a holistic perspective. Their work is complemented by our specialized fund management teams, which screen the most promising companies in their respective universe. They do so by conducting classic fundamental research and talking with company executives and leading industry experts. There are many pieces to the puzzle and whoever gets them the right will claim a top spot in the race for top returns.

Outstanding performance is also the result of intelligent risk management. Risk management is an integral part of our disciplined, transparent investment process. Investors can trust the watchful eye of our sophisticated risk control system.

Custom-tailored products and services

Bellevue manages some 7 billion Swiss francs for a broad client base. Our investment expertise is channeled through a diverse range of collective investment funds subject to regulation in various jurisdictions, investment companies, private equity vehicles and structured products.

We also construct bespoke investment solutions for individual clients. Theme-specific competence, a deep understanding of local markets, passion, and a systematic, risk-controlled investment process are the ingredients we use to produce success for our clients and for our company.

Asset Management

Unsere Kunden suchen das Besondere. Wir auch. Als unabhängige Investment-Gruppe bieten wir ein selektives und differenziertes Angebot an aktiv verwalteten Anlagelösungen. Dabei suchen wir, fernab von ausgetretenen Pfaden und Benchmarks, für unsere Anleger nach überdurchschnittlichen Renditen in aussichtsreichen Investmentopportunitäten.

Aktive Vermögensverwaltung
Healthcare-Aktienstrategien
Spezialisierte Regionenstrategien
Multi-Asset-Strategien
Globale Aktien-/ Rentenstrategien
BB Biotech AG
Funds & Mandates
Private Equity
Schweiz /
Europa
Nischen­strategien
Frontier Markets
Absolute Return
Vermögens­verwaltend
ETF-​Strategien
Renten Global
Aktien Global
Fundamentalanalyse/ Stock Picking (Bottom Up)
quantitatives, kapitalmarktforschungsgetriebenes Research (Top Down)

Aktive Vermögensverwaltung

Spezialisiert aufFundamentalanalyse/ Stock Picking

Expertise

Healthcare-Aktienstrategien

  • BB Biotech AG
  • Funds & Mandates
  • Private Equity

Spezialisierte Regionenstrategien

  • Schweiz / Europa Nischenstrategien
  • Frontier Markets

Multi-Asset-Strategien

  • Absolute Return

Spezialisiert aufquantitatives, kapitalmarktforschungsgetriebenes Research

Expertise

Multi-Asset-Strategien

  • Vermögens­verwaltend
  • ETF-Strategien

Globale Aktien-/ Rentenstrategien

  • Renten Global
  • Aktien Global

Bellevue Asset Management – Überzeugter Spezialitäten-Anbieter

Wir sind von attraktiven Spezialthemen überzeugt, die von strukturellen Wachstumstrends getragen werden.

Eine unserer Kernexpertisen ist seit über 20 Jahren der globale Gesundheitssektor. In diesem Bereich bieten wir unseren Kunden ein vielfältiges Spektrum von ausgezeichneten Anlagelösungen an. Angeführt von unserem Flaggschiff, der börsennotierten Beteiligungsgesellschaft BB Biotech AG, finden Investoren entsprechend ihrer Bedürfnisse eine breite Palette an Anlagefonds- und Mandatslösungen. Für institutionelle Kunden eignet sich im Speziellen der global ausgerichtete BB Adamant Healthcare Index, der weltweit in die 40 attraktivsten Gesundheitsfirmen investiert und in den vergangenen Jahren den Gesamtmarkt deutlich übertreffen konnte. 

Unser selektiver Investmentansatz spiegelt sich auch in regionalen Spezialthemen wider. Mit unseren Entrepreneur-Strategien setzen wir auf besonders aussichtsreiche familien- bzw. eigentümergeführte Unternehmen aus der Schweiz oder Europa. Bellevue ist in diesem Feld ein Pionier. Gleiches gilt auch für unsere Expertise im Bereich Frontier Markets, wo wir unentdeckte Wachstums-potenziale in neuen Märkten erschliessen. Allen voran auf dem Kontinent Afrika, mit dem wir dank unserer langjährigen Erfahrung und lokalen Verankerung für unsere Kunden attraktive Anlageopportunitäten in diesen Markt zugänglich machen.

Das Bedürfnis nach konservativen Renditeansprüchen bei minimalen und kontrollierten Schwankungsrisiken decken wir mit unserer Global Macro-Strategie ab – Ein Multi Asset-Ansatz  mit Fokus auf absolute Rendite. Tägliche Liquidität und strenge Governance nach Luxemburger Anlagefondsvorschriften kommen sicherheitsorientierten Anlegern zusätzlich entgegen. Mit dieser Strategie schlägt Bellevue Asset Management die  Brücke zu der langjährig ausgewiesenen Vermögensverwaltungs-Kompetenz des Schwesterunternehmens StarCapital.

StarCapital – Ganzheitliche Vermögensverwaltung

Als finanzmarktorientierter Vermögensverwalter arbeiten wir mit Leidenschaft und Professionalität an der Entwicklung von Anlagestrategien und der Betreuung von privaten und institutionellen Vermögen. Dabei ist es uns wichtig, dass unsere Kunden die eingesetzten Anlagestrategien nachvollziehen können und transparent und regelmässig über die Betreuung ihrer Vermögen informiert werden. Wir streben eine langfristige Kundenbeziehung an, in der wir für unsere Kunden einen Mehrwert durch Schutz und Mehrung ihres Vermögens erzielen.

Als Kombination aus Erfahrung und Wissenschaft basieren unsere Anlagestrategien sowohl auf der jahrzehntelangen Börsenerfahrung unserer Fondsmanager, als auch auf den Studien und Ergebnissen unserer hauseigenen Kapitalmarktforschung. Im Vordergrund steht dabei immer eine ganzheitliche Betrachtung der Finanzmärkte, mit dem Ziel, die uns anvertrauten Kundengelder langfristig optimal zu positionieren. Eine besondere Charakteristik unserer Philosophie ist der antizyklischer Anlageansatz.

Mit diesen langjährig bewährten Anlagekompetenzen spielen wir auf der gesamten Klaviatur, indem wir diverse Anlageklassen berücksichtigen: Neben globalen Aktien- und Rentenfonds verwalten wir erfolgreich vermögensverwaltende Strategien (gemischte Anlagen). Eine differenzierte Familie von ETF-Strategien (Asset Allocation mit ETFs) rundet das ganzheitliche Profil ab.

Das Beste aus zwei Welten

Überzeugung und Passion für aktives Management und hohe Komplementarität

Die erfolgreiche Gemeinschaft unserer Häuser verbindet ein starkes Band: Eine tiefgreifende Überzeugung für aktives Management – umgesetzt mit hoher Disziplin und Passion.

Ob aus einer spezialisierten oder ganzheitlichen Perspektive, beide Ansätze wollen aktiv, unabhängig von einer Benchmark, für Investoren einen Mehrwert schaffen. Erfahrung und ausgewiesene Anlagekompetenzen und –überzeugungen erlauben es uns, mit vergleichsweise fokussierten Portfolios einen hohen „Active Share“ mit massvoller Umschlagshäufigkeit zu paaren.

Wir nutzen Chancen und Preisanomalien, die sich in ineffizienten Märkten ergeben, und fördern antizyklisches Verhalten. Dabei verfolgen wir zwei Anlagestile:

Durch fundamentale Unternehmensanalyse getriebenes Stock Picking (Bottom up)

Die hochspezialisierten Expertenteams von Bellevue Asset Management haben ein klares Ziel: Überdurchschnittliche Renditen bei überschaubaren, kontrollierten Risiken. Die Auswahl der Investments basiert auf einem tief gehenden Verständnis für Unternehmen und Märkte. Unsere Mitarbeiter, die nicht nur Anlageexperten sondern in vielen Fällen zugleich Physiker, Ingenieure oder Biochemiker sind, lernen die Unternehmen über Jahre im Detail kennen und machen sich ihr eigenes Bild. Weicht dieses von der vorherrschende Marktmeinung ab, werden Chancen genutzt. Ergebnis des kontrollierten Stock-Picking-Ansatzes sind auf 30 bis 50 Titel konzentrierte Portfolios.

Die gebündelten Anlagekompetenzen und das Angebot sind dabei derart komplementär, dass wir für unsere Kunden das Beste aus unseren zwei Welten zur Verfügung stellen können.

Von Erfahrung und hauseigener Kapitalmarktforschung getriebener Ansatz (Top down)

StarCapital untersucht systematisch die Zusammenhänge an den Kapitalmärkten und setzt die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse basierend auf seinem erfahrenen Fondsmanagement konsequent um. Der Forschungsschwer-punkt liegt auf der Bewertung, denn es ist wissenschaftlich belegt, dass sich daraus das langfristige Potenzial der Aktienmärkte ergibt. StarCapital greift auf fundamentale Indikatoren wie das Shiller-CAPE oder das Markt-Buchwert-Verhältnis zurück. Zudem werden technische Kennzahlen wie die relative Stärke eingesetzt.

Die langfristige Orientierung der Anlagestrategien erlaubt dabei eine ausgeprägt antizyklische Handlungsweise. Dies hat sich mitunter als wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor entpuppt.

Die Menschen machen den Unterschied

Die Interessen unserer Kunden sind auch die unseren. Dies nicht zuletzt, weil unsere Portfoliomanager und Kader durch eigene Investitionen am Erfolg des Produkts beteiligt sind. Selbst unsere Pensionskassengelder stecken in unseren Anlagestrategien. Die Angelsachsen würden dazu sagen: „we eat our own cooking“! Eine zielführende Form des Risikomanagements.

Selbstständiges und unternehmerisches Denken und Handeln steht im Zentrum unserer Unternehmenskulturen. Eine in sich geschlossene Hausmeinung mit zentraler Führung aller Portfoliomanager, an der sich alle Strategien orientieren müssen, gibt es nicht. In autonom agierenden Produktzellen haben sich die jeweiligen Expertenteams zu hoher Selbstverantwortung, Respekt und eigener Visionskraft gleichermassen verpflichtet.

Diese hohen Freiheitsgrade ermöglichen es uns, die besten Anlagetalente zur rekrutieren sowie zu fördern, und ihre Kompetenzen in fruchtbarer Zusammenarbeit weiterzuentwickeln. Die Anlageprofis kennen die Unternehmen und Märkte seit vielen Jahren im Detail und finden so unentdeckte Perlen für ihre Portfolios.

Um die besten Ergebnisse für unsere Kunden zu erzielen sind wir am Puls der Märkte. Die mehr als 60 Mitarbeiter im Asset Management verteilen sich auf die Standorte Zürich, New York, London und Curaçao. Mit StarCapital sind wir auch in Deutschland verstärkt und lokal verankert.

Analysekompetenz trifft auf Risikomanagement

Seriöse und erfolgreiche Analyse – egal ob fundamentale Unternehmensanalyse oder Kapitalmarktforschung – ist Knochenarbeit. Das spielt uns in die Hände, denn wir gehen gerne in die Tiefe. Unsere hauseigene Kapitalmarktforschung identifiziert systematisch und ganzheitlich die attraktivsten Anlagekategorien, Märkte und Sektoren. In Ergänzung dazu identifizieren unsere spezialisierten Management-Teams die vielversprechendensten Unternehmen in ihrem Anlageuniversum. Die Grundlagen hierfür bilden neben klassischer Fundamentalanalyse persönliche Gespräche mit Managern und führenden Industrieexperten. Wer die zahlreichen Puzzleteile richtig kombiniert, setzt sich im Wettlauf um die höchsten Renditen an die Spitze.

Eine herausragende Performance ist auch das Ergebnis intelligent gemanagter Risiken. In unserem disziplinierten, transparenten Anlageprozess ist das Risikomanagement integraler Bestandteil. Investoren können auf konstantes Monitoring durch unser sophistiziertes Risiko-Kontrollsystem vertrauen.

Produktangebot nach Mass

Bellevue verwaltet derzeit rund 7 Milliarden CHF im Auftrag einer breit gefächerten Kundenbasis. Wir stellen unsere Anlagekompetenzen in einer klar definierten Palette an transparenten Publikumsfonds unterschiedlichen Rechts, Beteiligungsgesellschaften, Private-Equity-Vehikeln und strukturierten Produkten zur Verfügung.

Bei Bedarf entwickeln wir entlang der Anlagebedürfnisse ein Mandat nach Mass. Mit Themenkompetenz, Marktnähe, Leidenschaft und einem systematischen und risikokontrollierten Anlageprozess arbeiten wir an Ihrem und somit auch unserem Erfolg.